I follow a fair amount of journalists on Twitter, each of them constantly writing articles which capture my attention. However, three journalists I follow whose work particularly inspires and interests me are:

I’ve found that with each of these journalists, Twitter has become a fairly large part of their professional practice. It is where they share their work, respond to readers and even collect information for possible stories. I’ve noticed a trend in how they promote their work as well as the work of their colleagues. Before they provide the link to the article, they often either include a quote or say a brief comment regarding the story. This prompts the reader to click on the link as they want to know what exactly is being discussed and why, it intrigues them. Of course they also include hashtags relevant to the story and retweet those who mention it. Of the three journalists I mentioned, Ford is the only one who has a professional FaceBook page. However, I noticed here she tends to interact with her readers more than actually sharing her stories, seemingly preferring to use Twitter for that. Perhaps that is why Swoyer and Herrick don’t have professional FaceBook pages.

